Challah

Challah Bread

Challah Bread

As most of you know I love baking bread. Well it could be said I just love baking. I think if I had a library it would mainly feature cookbooks as well as cake decorating books. I was reading up on food52 and came across the challah bread. I have always liked it and so I started reading the multiple ones on both quantities and method as well. All the recipes make two loaves and are easily halved if you would like to make only one loaf. I finally settled on this one.  One thing that I would always encourage you to do is read the recipe in full. I tried her method for braiding the bread but after three tries I gave up and tried a three braid with the six braid. On my second try I checked youtube for a video and used this one which was really good.

 

Ingredients

Makes 2 loaves. Prep time : 15 minutes. Resting time : 2 hours. Baking time : 30 minutes

  • 1 3/4 cup warm water
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons yeast
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • large eggs (use 2 for a less richer loaf)
  • tablespoon salt
  • cups all-purpose flour

Method

Put the warm water and sugar in a glass container and stir to dissolve the sugar. Add the yeast, stir and let it rise for about 5 minutes. In a separate bowl whisk the eggs and oil to incorporate.

Put the flour and salt in a stand mixer. Turn on the mixer and add the water mixture, followed by the egg-oil mixture. Knead the dough until it has all come together and when pressed with a thumb leaves and impression. Put your dough into a well oiled bowl and cover with a dish cloth. Let it rise for an hour in a warm place. It will more than double in an hour.

Using a scraper gently take the flour out onto a lightly floured work surface. Knead the dough for a bit and then form it into a ball. Divide the ball into two equal halves. Cover one half with the dish cloth. Divide the other half into 6 equal portions. They come out to a little under 5 oz each. Working one at a time roll each ball into a log about 12″ in length. I do this by rolling the log back and forth starting from the middle and extending to the sides. Once you have all the logs rolled out you are ready to braid them.

To braid watch this video : Braiding your Challah bread

After you have done the first loaf, place it on a lightly floured surface of either the pan you are going to bake it in or on your paddle. Then start on the second loaf. After they are both done cover with your dish cloth and let them rise for another hour. They will again rise a fair amount.

Heat your oven to 350. I used a stone in my oven so that goes in before I turn the oven on.

Before placing your loaves into the oven brush them with milk (You can use egg whites but I prefer milk). Once your oven is ready using your paddle transfer the loaves into the oven or place the pan into the oven and bake for 30 minutes until the tops are golden brown.

Remove from the oven and let it cool before cutting it . (I normally share the second loaf)

Leave a Reply

