Squash Latkes

Squash Latkes

Squash Latkes

Don’t you just love the summer. In addition to being wonderfully sunny – the garden is in full bloom and for those of us with vegetable gardens there is an abundance of produce. Well i do not have a vegetable garden – purely due to the lack of space, however, I do have friends who have gardens who are so nice to always share. I got these from my friend Sherry. I was so excited when she said she would bring me some. Look at them aren’t they simply gorgeous.

So I took them home and then was trying to think of what I could make with them (no bright spark at that moment). I was on flipboard reading the food section and came across kefedes and looking at the picture I thought Squash Latke’s – I can do those. So I did try them out and they were brillant. I think it would have helped if I had done the draining technique on them so they had less water in them. They would probably have cooked a lot quicker. I have made Latke’s out of sweet potatoes and the next one I am going to try it with is with Parsnips – I think those may come out a little on the sweeter side but I will let you know.

Ingredients

Serving : 6-8, Prep time : 15 minutes

Sauce

  • 6 tablespoons light sour cream
  • 3/4 teaspoon grated lime rind
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder

Latke’s

  • 6 cups shredded Squash (4 medium squash)
  • 1 cup grated onion
  • 6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped jalapeno
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

 

Method

For the sauce

Mix the ingredients and refrigerate until ready to use.

 

For the Latke’s

Combine squash and onion in a mesh colander and press to drain excess water. Put into a bowl and add the rest of the ingredients except for the olive oil. Mix well. Your mixture will be moist and a wee bit sticky.

Heat some oil on a skillet. When hot pour about a 1/4 cup of the mixture on the pan and then press down to flatten. Repeat until you have filled your pan. My wide pan does about 3 at a time. Now let is sauté until it has browned and then turn it over and repeat on the other side. Repeat with the remaining batter.

Serve with the sauce.

Leave a Reply

