Espresso Chocolate Crackle Cookies

Espresso Coffee Crackle

Espresso Coffee Crackle

 

Its that time of year to bake oodles of goodies. As you can tell I love crackle cookies – I think they look super and these ones turn out cakey inside as well which is a nice surprise. I had ‘I love it’ and ‘It could be sweeter’ with this one. The espresso that I used could have been strong so these are definitely not your average sweet cookie – so if you do make it I would highly recommend using more sugar. However, the coffee lovers wolfed them down. Let me know what you do!

Recipe

  • 4 tblsps unsalted butter
  • 2/3 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tsps instant espresso
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate morsels
  • 1 (about) tablespoon milk
  • Icing (confectioners) sugar, for coating

Method

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and continue beating until combined.

Sift in the flour, cocoa and baking powder. Sprinkle on the espresso powder and salt. Fold into the mixture.

Add the milk (you may need a little more if the batter is too stiff). Put the chocolate morsels in and stir.

Put this mixture into a bowl, cover it and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Using a cookie scoop (small), scoop out the batter, roll between your palms to form a ball and then roll in icing sugar to coat.

Place on a silicone or parchment lined cookie sheet.

Heat the oven to 350F. Bake the cookies for 10 minutes until they have spread and the sugar has cracked.

Let them cool on the tray for 3-4 mins before moving them to a wire rack.

4 responses to “Espresso Chocolate Crackle Cookies

  • George

    How did you get your cookies to spread so evenly?! Maybe mine were a bit close together on the baking sheet but basically ended up with one giant rectangular cookie 😉 Delicious though. I added chopped hazelnuts and used decaff coffee instead of espresso (sorry, gave up caffeine a LONG while ago!). BTW, anyone who says they could be sweeter has an awfully sweet tooth…

    • anoccasionaltart

      I now always use a cookie scoop to measure out the dough. That way I get even sized portions. I will say it is extremely sticky and I normally dunk the cookie scoop in icing sugar as well to help reduce the sticking :-). You have to space the cookies with a at least two inches between them. I got myself extra baking trays so I am always baking one while I am getting the next one ready. A lot of people like setting up everything first and then baking. And you know I have an Awfully sweet tooth :-).

Leave a Reply

